2019 Elections: INEC releases full list of Presidential and National Assembly candidates


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Thursday released the final list of candidates for the presidential and National Assembly election billed for February 16, 2019.

The list which contained names and details of presidential, senatorial and House of Representatives’ candidates was published on INEC’s website.

It was signed by the Commission’s secretary, Mrs Rose Oriaran-Anthony.

A total 73 parties’ were listed as eligible to present presidential candidates for the election. The presidential candidates of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and the vice presidential candidate were not listed as their names were yet to be submitted to the electoral umpire.

Prominent candidates and their running mates include incumbent president Muhammadu Buhari and vice president Yemi Osinbajo of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Alhaji Atiku Abubakar and Peter Obi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Professor Kingsley Moghalu and Abdullahi Umma Getso of the Young Progressives Party (YPP).

Others include Mailafia Obadiah and Nasiru Tanimowo Nuran Bolanle (ADC), Omoyele Sowore and Rufai Rabiu Ahmed presidential and vice presidential candidates respectively of the AAC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here